Meet Queensland’s division committee members for 2022

This year we introduce two new members to Engineers Australia’s Queensland committee. All members will help the committee provide leadership in the direction and governance of Engineers Australia Queensland in 2022. 

Engineers Australia would like to welcome Brook Veliscek and Tara Herley to the Queensland committee for 2022. Elected committee members, headed by President Marie Gales FIEAust CPEng EngExec NER will contribute their knowledge and time to provide leadership in key areas, including the overall governance and strategic direction of Engineers Australia Queensland.

President Marie Gales says in 2022 the committee will increase its focus on climate change and will look to the UN Sustainability Goals for opportunities to innovate and disrupt what we deliver as engineers.

“The recent announcement about Queensland as a hub for hydrogen provides an opportunity for engineers to put Queensland on the global stage,” she says.

Queensland will also continue to see record infrastructure spend following announcements such as the 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games. Marie says as the community prepares for the Games, engineers will continue to be asked to deliver more, giving us the unique opportunity to review how we deliver.

“I am optimistic about the coming year and look forward to working with many of you on these and many other opportunities for engineers to shape the future of Queensland,” she says.

Each new Queensland committee member will serve the committee for two years, helping engineers in the state to rise to these opportunities. You can find out more about each of them below.

Brooke Veliscek

Brooke Veliscek MIEAust CPEng NER

Working at the University of Queensland, Brooke is actively involved with a range of exciting building, infrastructure and renewable projects and through her current role as Director Infrastructure and Sustainability (Acting).

Brooke has an electrical engineering background and over 18 years’ experience in the construction industry as an engineer and project manager. She is passionate about making a positive difference to the industry and wider community and is looking forward to being able to continue in her newly appointed role with the Queensland committee.

Tara Herley

Tara Herley MIEAust CPEng

Tara is a chartered civil engineer with 15 years’ experience. She commenced her career with the Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads, specialising in road safety and network operations.

Since then, she has worked for major contractors and consultants delivering construction projects within Australia and internationally. She is currently the Manager – IV and Construction Services (North QLD/NT) based in the Cairns SMEC office.

Returning members: 

President – Marie Gales FIEAust CPEng EngExec NER

Marie has 30 years’ experience as an engineer and planner in a local government and consultancy highway environment, with over fifteen years in management roles. She has extensive experience in design and management across all transport modes. An RPEQ, Chartered Engineer, Fellow of Engineers Australia and the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) she is dedicated to lifelong learning.


Deputy President – Joseph Tam FIEAust CPEng EngExec NER

Joseph has been a chartered civil and structural engineer for over 30 years and a member of Engineers Australia since 1990. Joseph has worked for consultants, contractors, governments and statutory bodies in Australia and overseas. He now works for Seqwater as the Principal Supply Planner, responsible for planning major water infrastructure to meet demand for the next 30 years.


Deputy President – Robert Hoffman MIEAust CPEng NER

Robert is a Manager in the Project and Infrastructure Advisory team at BDO and previous Chairperson of Young Engineers Australia. He specialises in economic analysis supporting the development of policy and infrastructure planning outcomes. He has completed projects for a range of clients across the transport, energy and natural resources, water, health and defence sectors.


Immediate past President - Suzanne Burrow FIEAust CPEng NER

Suzanne joined the Board of Professional Engineers in 2019 as the elected representative. She is a chartered and registered civil engineer with considerable experience as a practitioner in water resources engineering. She currently consults in the private sector.


Andrew Reid FIEAust CPEng NER

Andrew is a mechanical engineer with significant project experience in mining, sugar, transport, infrastructure, defence, energy, agriculture, and machine design. He is also an experienced business owner and Managing Director at Haald Engineering. He has managed projects in Australia and internationally, working with many clients in different environments.


Helen Fairweather FIEAust CPEng NER

Helen is a Senior Lecturer in Environmental Engineering at the University of the Sunshine Coast. Hydrology has long been her passion and she hopes to share that passion with students to inspire them. Helen’s research program can be described as engineering’s contribution to climate change mitigation and adaptation in the coastal zone.


We would like to thank our committee members whose terms ended in December 2021 for all their efforts and commitment to the profession – Chris Nielsen, Mark Lendich and Col Mitchell – all who served time as Deputy President and President, along with Trang Pham, Elizabeth Harrison and Ash Chowdhury.

The 2022 Queensland division committee welcomes your ideas on how to best serve the profession in the Queensland community. Please contact them at [email protected] with suggestions or discussion points.